Select the best medical schools in Nigeria

Let us help you find the best medical school in Africa!

Nigeria is a country located in West Africa with a population of over 200 million people. The country has a long history of providing medical education, and today there are over 40 medical schools in Nigeria. These schools offer a variety of programs, including undergraduate and graduate degrees in medicine, nursing, and other health-related fields.

Studying medicine at the top medical schools in Nigeria offers a transformative educational experience, characterized by high-quality education, extensive clinical exposure, a multicultural environment, research opportunities, networking, and the chance to make a difference in local healthcare challenges.

Supercharge your educational journey! Contact us now for personalized assistance in achieving your academic goals!

Interested in studying in Africa?

Fill in your details & get a call back from our higher education experts.

Best Universities in Nigeria

University of Ibadan

University of Ibadan

The University of Ibadan (UI) is a public research university in Ibadan, Nigeria. It is the oldest degree-awarding institution in Nigeria. The university was founded in 1948 as University College Ibadan, a college of the University of London. It became an independent university in 1962. The UI’s early years were marked by rapid growth. The university opened its doors to students in 1948 with just over 100 students. By 1960, the university had over 2,000 students. The UI has continued to grow since then, and today it has over 50,000 students.

University of Nigeria Logo

University of Nigeria

The University of Nigeria (UNN) is a federal university located in Nsukka, Enugu State, Nigeria. It was founded in 1955 by Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first president of Nigeria, and formally opened on October 7, 1960. UNN is the first full-fledged indigenous and first autonomous university in Nigeria, modelled upon the American educational system. It was the first land-grant university in Africa and one of the five most reputed universities in Nigeria. UNN was established as part of Azikiwe’s vision for a self-reliant and prosperous Nigeria.

Obafemi Awolowo University logo

Obafemi Awolowo University

Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), formerly known as the University of Ife, was founded in 1962 by the regional government of Western Nigeria, led by Chief Samuel Ladoke Akintola. The university was named after Chief Obafemi Awolowo, one of the founding fathers of Nigeria and a leading advocate for education and development. OAU has grown rapidly since its founding and is now one of the leading universities in Nigeria. The university has over 30,000 students enrolled in a variety of undergraduate and postgraduate programs.

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU) is a federal university of technology located in Bauchi, north-east Nigeria. It was established in 1980 as Bauchi College of Technology, and was renamed Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University in 1984 in honor of Nigeria’s first prime minister, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa. ATBU is a multi-campus university, with campuses in Bauchi, Gubi, and Yelwa. The Bauchi campus is the main campus and houses the faculties of Arts and Humanities, Education, Management Sciences, Science, and Social Sciences.

Ahmadu Bello University Logo

Ahmadu Bello University

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) is a public research university located in Zaria, Kaduna State, Nigeria. It is the largest university in Nigeria and one of the prestigious universities in Africa. ABU was founded in 1962 by the Northern Nigerian government, and it is named after Ahmadu Bello, the Sardauna of Sokoto and Premier of Northern Nigeria. ABU was established to meet the growing need for higher education in Northern Nigeria. The university initially had three faculties: Arts and Social Sciences, Science, and Agriculture. Over the years, ABU has expanded to include 17 faculties and 106 departments.

University of Lagos Logo

University of Lagos

The University of Lagos was founded in 1962, two years after the independence of Nigeria from Britain. It was one of the first five universities created in the country, now known as “first generation universities”. Eni Njoku was appointed as the first black vice-chancellor of the university in 1962, and he remained in office till 1965 when he was replaced by Saburi Biobaku. UNILAG was established to meet the growing demand for higher education in Nigeria and to produce a workforce that could support the country’s development.

Share via
Copy link