Best medical universities in South Africa

Let us help you find the best medical school in Africa!

Discover the compelling reasons to study medicine in South Africa, home to some of the best medical universities in the region. Immerse yourself in world-class education, as these renowned institutions offer top-tier programs and cutting-edge facilities. South Africa is a country with a rich history and culture. It is also a country with a strong focus on education

South Africa’s multicultural society further enriches the learning experience for medical students. Interacting with people from diverse backgrounds and cultures enhances your understanding of global healthcare issues and fosters a sense of empathy and cultural competence.

If you are looking for an affordable and high-quality medical education, South Africa is a great option!

Interested in studying in Africa?

Fill in your details & get a call back from our higher education experts.

Top Universities in South Africa

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) is a dedicated health sciences university in South Africa. It was founded in 1976 as the Medical University of South Africa (MEDUNSA) to provide medical education to black students, who were restricted from attending most medical schools in South Africa by the Apartheid government. The university was renamed Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University in 2015.

University of Cape Town

University of Cape Town

The University of Cape Town (UCT) is the oldest in South Africa, founded in 1829 as the South African College. It was granted university status in 1918. The university is known for its opposition to apartheid. Today, it is one of the most diverse universities in South Africa. UCT has a long and distinguished history of academic excellence. It is home to some of the world’s leading scholars and researchers. UCT is also known for its commitment to social justice.

University of the Free State logo

University of the Free State

The University of the Free State, founded in 1904, has a rich and storied history spanning over a century. With a commitment to quality education, it has evolved into a prestigious institution, contributing to local, national, and global knowledge. Over the years, it has adapted to change and growth, offering a diverse range of academic programs. From its early days as Grey University College to becoming a multi-campus university, the UFS has championed excellence, celebrated diversity, and promoted inclusivity.

University of KwaZulu-Natal logo

University of KwaZulu-Natal

The University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) is a public research university in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. It was formed in 2004 by the merger of the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville. UKZN has five campuses in the province of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The merger of the two universities was seen as a way to create a more diverse and inclusive university. UKZN is now one of the most diverse universities in South Africa, with students from all over the country and the world.

University of Limpopo LOGO

University of Limpopo

(Former merger between University of the North & MEDUNSA)

The University of Limpopo (UL) is a public university located in the Limpopo province of South Africa. It was founded in 1959 as the University College of the North, and became a fully independent university in 1972. The university has a long and rich history, and has played a significant role in the education and development of the people of Limpopo and South Africa as a whole. The UL is a multi-campus university, with campuses in Turfloop, Mankweng, and Polokwane. The university offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs in a variety of disciplines, including the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and education.

University of Stellenbosch logo

University of Stellenbosch

Stellenbosch University (SU) is one of the oldest and most prestigious universities in South Africa. In 1904, a college expansion scheme led to the establishment of research chairs in Zoology, Botany, History and Applied Mathematics. Today, Stellenbosch University has ten faculties and over 28,000 students. It is a leading research university, with a strong focus on innovation and entrepreneurship. It’s played a significant role in the development of South Africa.

Share via
Copy link