Agostinho Neto University

Agostinho Neto University


The UAN School of Medicine was founded in 1963 as the Faculty of Medicine of the Estudos Gerais Universitários de Angola (EGUA), a Portuguese colonial university. After Angola’s independence in 1975, the EGUA was renamed the Universidade de Angola, and the Faculty of Medicine became the UAN School of Medicine. It offers a 6-year undergraduate program leading to the Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree. The school also provides postgraduate programs, including Master’s and Doctorate degrees in various medical specialties.

The university has over 30,000 students, of which about 2,000 are enrolled in the School of Medicine. The university has a student-to-faculty ratio 15:1. In 2022, the UAN was ranked 72nd in Africa by the Times Higher Education World University Rankings.

Interested in studying in Africa?

Fill in your details & get a call back from our higher education experts.

Programs Offered


MMed in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene

Medical Microbiology

Clinical Pharmacy


National Medical Council of Angola logo
joint commission international
International Association of Universities
Association of African Universities

Explore our comprehensive selection of medical supplies and equipment for the healthcare industry.

Share via
Copy link